WeirFoulds LLP, formed in 1860, is one of Canada’s oldest and most prestigious law firms. The firm is focused on four broad areas of practice: Litigation, Corporate, Property and Government Law. An impressively large percentage of the partners of WeirFoulds are leading practitioners in the firm’s chosen practice areas.

Firm Ranking

  • Recognized by our peers and colleagues as one of the top regional firms in Canadian Lawyer’s Top 10 Ontario Regional Firms survey
  • Consistently ranked in Novae Res Urbis’ Top 10 Development Law Firms in GTA

Wayne Egan
Managing Partner
T: 416.947.5086

Media Contact
Sara Swartz-Hawley
Director, Business Development & Marketing
T: 416.947.5077


  • Benchmark Canada, the Guide to Canada’s Leading Litigation Firms and Attorneys
  • Chambers Canada Guide 
  • Lexpert®/American Lawyer 500 Guide – Listed as a leading firm in Construction, Property Leasing and Litigation – Corporate Commercial
  • Canadian Legal Lexpert® Directory – Listed as a leading firm in Litigation –Corporate Commercial, Property Development and Property Leasing
  • Lexpert® Special Edition – Infrastructure – Glenn W. Ackerley – Construction Law; Lisa A. Borsook – Property Leasing; Barnet H. Kussner – Property Development; Bradley N. McLellan – Property Development; Christopher J. Tzekas – Property Development; Robert B. Warren – Electricity & Transportation
  • Best Lawyers® in Canada – Listed as a Top 10 firm in Corporate and Commercial Litigation and Property Leasing
  • Chambers Global: The World’s Leading Lawyers – Competition/Antitrust: Litigators – Canada
  • Lexpert Guide® to the Leading US/Canada Cross-Border Litigation Lawyers in Canada
  • Lexpert® Guide to the Leading US/Canada Cross-Border Corporate Lawyers in Canada
  • Lexpert® Special Edition – Litigation


  • 2018 OBA Award for Distinguished Service – Raj Anand
  • PCMA Industry Advocacy Leadership Award of Recognition – David Brown & Susan Han
  • 2017 Canadian Construction Association Award of Recognition – Glenn Ackerley
  • 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award – The Federation of Asian Canadian Lawyers (FACL) Ontario  –  Raj Anand
  • Laura Legge Award 2016 – Law Society of Upper Canada – Lisa Borsook
  • 2016 TCIC Chancellor’s Award of Excellence – Toronto Construction Association – Michael Swartz
  • Ontario Bar Association’s 2016 Award for Distinguished Service – Frank Walwyn
  • Best Lawyers® in Canada 2016 – Glenn Ackerley as Toronto “Lawyer of the Year” in Construction Law
  • Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts 2016 – Governor General’s Awards for the Performing Arts – John McKellar
  • Best Lawyers® in Canada 2014 – Bryan Finlay, QC as “Lawyer of the Year” in Bet-the-Company Litigation
  • Best Lawyers® in Canada 2013 – Robert B. Warren as Toronto “Lawyer of the Year” in Energy Law
  • Planet Africa Professional Excellence Award 2014 – Frank Walwyn
  • University College Alumni of Influence Award 2014 – John McKellar
  • Ontario Bar Association Award of Excellence in Real Estate – Lisa Borsook, Brad McLellan
  • Women’s Executive Network’s (WXN) Canada’s Most Powerful Women – Lisa Borsook
  • Lexpert® Rising Stars: Leading Lawyers Under 40 – Caroline Abela
  • Lexpert® Zenith Awards – Clare Burns, Lori Duffy

Quick Facts on Current and Former Members of the Firm

  • Five Treasurers (heads) of the Law Society of Ontario
  • Fellows of the American College of Trial Lawyers
  • Honorary members of the Commercial Bar Association of England and Wales
  • Members of FICCI Arbitration and Conciliation Tribunal (FACT) – India’s leading arbitration institute
  • Current member of the Ontario Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee
  • Past President of the Canadian Association of Black Lawyers (CABL)
  • First recipient of the McMurtry Award from Pro Bono Law Ontario
  • Current (and first) Chair of the Board of Directors of Ontario’s new Human Rights Legal Support Centre
  • First recipient of the Arleen Goss Award for Young Advocates from The Advocates’ Society
  • 13 former partners made federally appointed judges
  • 8 former partners appointed to Courts of Appeal in Canada, including former Ontario Chief Justice George Alexander Gale, Supreme Court of Canada Justice Roy Kellock and Ontario Court of Appeal Justice John Arnup
  • Current and former firm members honoured as Members and Officers of the Order of Canada and recipients of honorary degrees from major Canadian universities