Michael Swartz is the Winner of the 2016 TCIC Chancellor’s Award of Excellence

Michael Swartz, a construction partner at WeirFoulds, has been selected by the Toronto Construction Association (TCA) Nominations & Awards Committee as the winner of the 2016 TCIC Chancellor’s Award of Excellence.

The Construction Institute of Canada (TCIC) is dedicated to raising the level of construction industry professional excellence through education, training and continuing professional development. Michael’s selection as the recipient of the TCIC Chancellor’s Award of Excellence is a recognition of his efforts to give back to the industry he serves so faithfully.

In addition to his busy practice, Michael is a regular speaker at various construction focused associations and groups on topical issues concerning the construction industry. He devotes his time to teaching Construction Law courses for various post-secondary institutions and industry groups.

Michael is currently sits on the Toronto Construction Association: Industry Practices Committee; is a member of the Ontario Bar Association Executive for the Construction & Infrastructure Law Section; and Vice-Chair of The Advocates’ Society – Construction Law Practice Group Executive.  Michael was also very recently a member of the Task Force on Construction Lien Act Reform, The Advocates’ Society and Subcommittee Co-Chair of the Ontario Bar Association Committee on Construction Lien Act Reform.

Clients from across Ontario in every facet of the construction industry count on Michael’s ability to deliver on any matter from project inception to completion. Michael’s practical and time-saving advice has resolved wide-ranging issues arising from procurement and contract disputes and lien, trust and delay claims. Michael appears frequently before various boards, tribunals and courts, including the Ontario and Superior Courts of Justice, the Ontario Court of Appeal, and the Federal Court of Canada.

Michael will receive his award at the TCA’s 149th Annual Meeting & “Best of the Best” Awards Presentation on February 09, 2017 at Woodbine Race Track.

Read More About
Related Categories
Core Areas